WUVA to drop Urban Monday, to flip to country.

I wanted to address the news that came out yesterday about WUVA Charlotesville, VA dropping Urban for Classic Country that is due to take place on Monday. As Lance Venta of Radio Insight pointed out, this is likely a strategy to keep the station in UVA hands for years to come, and I hope they can do that. What saddens me about this is, at least for the short term, we’ve lost another station where students can get a start into the industry if they choose. I hope the satilite format is only a short-term solution, as points of entry into the broadcast industry are already dwindling, and this, as well as a station in Florida, are the only two commercial stations I know of at the college level. Had this station been on my radar a few years ago, I may have applied to UVA, but I guess we’ll never see where that could have taken me.

Gallery | This entry was posted in radio analysis. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

