How to image your Country or CHR radio station

Wow, my knoledge of good and not-so-good radio has come a long way since I wrote some of these early posts on here, that’s why I’m slowly deleting them and replacing them with fresher content. When I look back at some of those old posts I seem like I don’t know what I’m talking about, so here goes the new and improved version.
Over the last two weeks over at my aircheck site, we’ve been listening to KUPL and I wanted to tie this in to this site. One thing I really noticed about that station was the quality of the audio production. The Country format has become very hit-driven over the past several years, and so has the imaging. I’m actually finding that the Country stations seem to have better imaging than the CHR stations in some markets, Portland being one. My message to programmers of CHR would be to find imaging suitable for CHR similar to what is heard here and run with it. You will be well on your way to taking your station from blah to great if you make this one change.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Programming. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

